It’s Becoming Real…and Hey, Who Needs Sleep Anyway?

19 days.

Breathe in.  Breathe Out.

You can do this.

Repeat.

—–
I’ve had another one of those moments (now that I’ve hit the teens portion of my countdown) where I sort of get a slap of reality.  This is actually happening.  In 19 days, (well 20 with the super long flight, ha) my world is going to be rocked…and rocked hard.
I keep telling myself that I’m ready and that I can do this…but honestly, I’m terrified out of my mind.
I feel like I know nothing of Korean culture except for bits and pieces that I’ve picked up while reading online.  There are a lot of days where I also feel homesick…and I haven’t even left yet.
Don’t get me wrong, I’m still excited for this and to experience everything that’s coming my way…it’s just…I’m just so nervous.  What if I’m terrible at teaching?  What if I hate it?

Still…it could be absolutely amazing, and that’s what I trying to tell myself.
I know I like kids and I’m typically a grammar nazi anyway.  I love travel and experiencing new things.  I love the teaching/training aspect of my current job and being able to see changes and results…especially if they happen to be as a result of something I’ve done or said.
This whole thing is just overwhelming.  Not to mention that I still feel like I have a massive amount of stuff to get done here.  I feel so pressed for time.  Trying to squeeze in as many visits and lunches and dinners with friends  and family as I can possibly manage.  Trying to knock out my to-do list and keep sane also while working 40 hours a week.
I should have asked for a full two weeks off work before I leave.  That last week and a half is going to be gone before I know it.

Ah well.  One day at a time.  That’s all I have control over.  One day at a time.

If this post sounds hurried or frantic at all, that’s probably because that’s the rate that my brain has been firing at for oh…the past few months or so.

Again…

Breathe in.  Breathe out.  Repeat.

You can do this.

Breathe in…breathe out…

Repeat.

—–
One last bit before I head to bed…
New plan for the car.  I was toying with the idea (per friend’s suggestions) of mentioning to the potential buyer of my car that I need to hold onto it til xx day.  That way I wouldn’t be without a car.
However, I’ve decided to go ahead and pay for a rental instead.  My brother actually works for Enterprise and can hook me up with a deal for that…and honestly, the idea of holding out on closing out the sale on my car adds to my stress.  What if they change their mind last minute?  etc. etc.  I’ll gladly pay the extra for the peace of mind.
Once it’s sold, it’s done.  I can pay off my car payment and just be done with it all.

Also, expecting my visa in the mail tomorrow.  *fingers crossed that it arrives safely*

One thought on “It’s Becoming Real…and Hey, Who Needs Sleep Anyway?

  1. Let me just say that all good teachers worry that they won’t be “good at it”. And really nothing can prepare you for being in charge of a classroom of students, it make a take a few weeks to get comfortable, but you are going to rock it!

Leave a Reply

