Last Day…

So, my last day of work is tomorrow, and I’m honestly feeling a bit bittersweet.
I’m excited because that’s just one more step toward this new experience…which is hopefully as amazing and fun as I’ve heard.  But, I’ve also been with my job for a bit over three years, and although I may vent and complain about certain aspects, I’m really going to miss some of the people I’ve had the opportunity of working with over the past few months.  The thing about working with a smaller staff (like we do in our stores) is that you really get to know the people you work with (if you so choose) and you form a bond.
Anyway, I’m still excited, but yeah..very bittersweet.
Especially with my most recent location.  This one has definitely been…an uphill battle it seems.  But, the thing about it is that looking back…I can see how far we’ve come.  And it’s weird to think that all that progress has been because of my influence.  I say “influence”, because I personally didn’t do every single change in the place…a lot of it, yes.  But I think I’ve hopefully created some sort of spark that will help keep them going in the right direction.
I also learned that one of my favorite managers from my last location is going to be taking over where I left off.  YAY!  I know he won’t let me down and that he’ll be able to finish off what I started.  I just wanted to make sure that all that I’ve worked on won’t be for nothing once I’ve left.  No backsliding allowed.

ALSO…I had my last day working with a few associates today and I’m honestly surprised my jaw didn’t drop completely to the floor, but I had about six associates come up to me today, and not just say “thank you”, but that and “You have really made an impact here.  Thank you so much for all you’ve done.”  I was pretty much stunned.  I know I’ve been working hard the whole time, but I never really heard or saw a whole lot of gratitude.  I felt I had to point out what I had done to get any sort of recognition.  And there it was.  😀
And I did receive a pretty stellar letter of recommendation from my boss’ boss.  I was practically glowing while reading it, ha 🙂

Anyway, last day of work tomorrow…and then crunch time.  I really need to knock out more of that TEFL course.  Ugh.  At least now I’ll have the time to get it done…

Going out to lunch with my mom and brother on Sunday and then a going-away party from my family. 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

