Goodbyes and Packing Up

Packing is actually going surprisingly well.  I think I have a system (which I’ve noticed this in the past too) that I’ll pack once and then re-pack and adjust that first round by taking stuff out and tweaking it.  Might sound like a waste of time, but it works for me.
I currently have one large suitcase and one smaller one (carry-on size), and I’m checking online to verify how many I’m allowed.  Double-checking anyway.  The suitcases are both pretty full currently, and I honestly wouldn’t mind paying the extra for an extra checked bag so I can make sure I have enough room to bring stuff back.  I just started with my tweaking round of packing, so maybe I’ll be able to trim enough stuff out that I don’t have a need for a second bag..
I also feel the need to bring my rainboots. ha.  I’m sure I’m being stubborn, but I’ve heard it rains a ton there, and my feet are a bit bigger than the average female’s, so I’m assuming I’d be hard pressed to find them there.
ALLLLSOOO…not too thrilled to be leaving our lovely 60 degree (WOW!! :-D) temps for the more realistic 20-degree (and snowy) temps of Daejeon.  😛

Anyway, I’m also moving tomorrow.  It’s pretty late here and I’ve been doing stuff pretty much since 9am yesterday morning…so I’m exhausted, but I really do want to knock out as much of this as I can before morning hits.  That way I can move, clean and just be done with it all.  Then I can sleep.

Also tonight, I went to a friend’s house and we had chocolate fondue night–yum!  Which also happened to be my last time seeing a bunch of my friends for the next year.  That’s basically what this whole last week has been.  Cramming in visits with everyone I possibly can all while trying to wrap things up around here.  (And deal with car dude…)  It’s really weird to think that I won’t see these people for a year.  I’m just trying not to think about it though.  I know the year will fly by, and I just make myself sad by thinking about how long it’ll be.
I’m so incredibly grateful that I live in a time (and country) that allows me to even do what I’m going to be doing.  And thankfully, I’m surrounded by different forms of social media and things like Skype, which all help bring the edges of the Earth a little bit closer together.
I’m also incredibly blessed to have the family and friends that I do.  Always there.  100%.  Supporting and cheering me on.

And of course, to have the opportunity to do something like this is really incredible.
But the thing is, the opportunities are there for most people.  You just have to have your eyes open and be ready to jump when it appears.  And work your frikin ass off for it.

But it’s worth it.  Oh so worth it.

—-
Edit: I was driving home from the fondue thing tonight and it’s really interesting how differently you see things when  you know you’re about to leave.  It’s kind of hard to describe, but it feels like everything has a glaze over it.
I feel…I can’t think of the best word choice right now, but as I’m driving down the road, I see things in a different light.  Or when I’m spending time with friends, I cherish it more.
I guess I could (unwillingly) compare it to how someone might feel about life once they’ve been told they only have a limited amount of time left to live.
I feel weird describing it like that, but if you’ve never moved away before, I feel like that would be the most similar sort of feeling.

Also, I’d like to note that I’m feeling more excited about going now.  It seriously depends on the day (or hour) on how I feel on the subject, but I’ve felt more positive about it recently.  I’m assuming that’s because car guy is letting up (kinda..only got 2 emails today) and that allows me to focus on the here and now. And allows me to actually get excited about this.  I’m making a promise to myself now not to let that guy get to me.  He can’t rob these last few days from me.
Anyway, back to packing.  Hopefully to bed soon.  It’s been a long (and productive) day.
——–
My Friday (2/17)–Snapshot
*Up at 9am–baked brownies (brownie bites) for fondue night
*Go to Mom’s house: drop off stuff to be shredded and extra shampoos/lotions/etc.  Stuff that probably won’t do well in a storage unit for a year and do laundry
*Get more boxes from grocery store (free apple boxes :-D)
*Go to Mom’s work–complete a Power of Attorney and copy important documents
*Fondue night with the ladies at 9pm! 😀
*Pack!!!!!  (Where this entry originally starts off)

One thought on “Goodbyes and Packing Up

  1. Hi and Bye both, Stacy. Wishes for nothing but the best over there. I’m sure you’ll meet some good friends and have some really interesting things happen. Enjoy! Love you! Aunt Colette

Leave a Reply

