Um…it’s not the third week yet…

From what I’ve heard about culture shock, is that you typically switch over from the ‘honeymoon’ (everything is awesome and fun and cute) to the next stage around week three.
The next stage is where you start getting a bit homesick and being more aware of all the differences.

I think I’m there already.  I hope this isn’t a bad sign.

I want to like it here…but I feel like my mood is going up and down in waves.  I’ll be alright for a bit and then I’ll be like this.
I want to be able to communicate with people and to be understood.  I want to be able to read what the hell it says on all the buildings and signs.  I don’t want people staring at me all the damn time.
I honestly feel kind of like I’m losing myself.  I feel like I don’t even recognize myself in the mirror anymore and that my confidence is definitely wavering.  And I don’t like this.

I miss my friends and family and I heard that my grandma was actually admitted into the hospital a few days ago (apparently she’s been released also) and my grandpa was put into a nursing home.  And that car guy (mentioned on and off throughout the last month) is back and sending me antagonizing emails.

Culture Shock 101:
http://www.worldwide.edu/travel_planner/culture_shock.html

Anyway–
Pretty sure I mentioned it (but maybe not–I’ve been updating here and on FB, so I sort of lose track) but I found a few trips that I want to do coming up.
The first one is this coming weekend and it’s a snowboarding/skiing trip.  I haven’t been skiing since I was..10?
Anyway, I think it’ll be really fun and hopefully it’ll be something that can pull me out of this weird funk.

Also.  I wish I could fit my American-sized feet into the shoes over here.  Really cute shoes but all too small for me.  😦
Clothes are also kind of strange.
I think I might end up with a scarf addiction while I’m here.  (And hot chocolate).
Speaking of scarves…I just bought one today 🙂

Maybe I’ll be able to find scarves when I make it out to Seoul.  Or another country nearby.  Perhaps Thailand?

3 thoughts on “Um…it’s not the third week yet…

  1. Sorry to hear about your homesickness Stacey… maybe it is just this initial period of adjustment of learning the language and getting to know Korean cultural norms and then you will be able to enjoy yourself in your surroundings for the rest of your year there (let’s hope). It makes me wonder how I will feel once I’ve been there a few days myself. I get sort of in a mini culture shock when I’m in someone else’s house much less another country because everyone has their own and different way of doing things you know? It’s so cool that you are finding some fun activities to do there. I’ve never been skiing or snowboarding! If you go let me know how it is. So what is the biggest size of womens shoe that you’ve seen in Korea? I wonder if there is a chance that I could find something there for me…… I remember back in the days with my Korean friend when she tried on one of my size 7.5 shoes and they looked huge on her even though I told her my feet were actually on the average side here in America haha.

    • Aw thanks.
      I think I just need to watch how packed I make my days. I know I’m coming off the tail end of adjusting to the time here, and doing all the walking and everything is exhausting. And I think that’s a lot of where my frustration comes from.
      I mean sure, it’s very frustrating at times and it is hard. I mean, I am on the other side of the planet…it’s going to be hard. (Until I adjust). I just think I have a stronger adverse reaction to it when I’m exhausted.
      I also just found an outlet for my frustration (see latest post) and I think getting myself back into an exercise routine will definitely help me.

      As far as shoe sizes, you’ll definitely be fine at a 7 1/2. I wear a 9, and the largest I’ve seen seems to be an 8. Lucky you!! 😛
      Apparently there are places that carry my size, but you have to search really hard for them. Or, I’ve heard there are more places in Seoul too.
      You’ll be fine on that front though.

  2. I am full swing into a scarf addiction and I love it. We should find cute scarves and send them to each other!
    Culture shock is huge and it hits everyone differently. Since I already struggle with loneliness and feeling left out, even in the comforts and familiarity of America, those feelings hit me full force here. And it does suck. It took me months of fighting to remember and really feel again my identity Christ had given me. The insecure girl won out ocassionally, but it’s a fight worth fighting. Doing the things you always love will help you remember who you are, and keep in mind that Korea will change you too. But in a good way. 🙂 And, as always, I’m praying for you.

Leave a Reply

