Running out of titles…bah…

So, I had a pretty good day today.  Teaching is still as exhausting as ever, but after work, I went with another teacher to the stationary (um…pretty much a store dedicated to school supplies) across the street and got some more organization tools.  I’m a pretty organized person, and if I’m not organized, I tend to get more stressed out.
Anyway, my desk at work is currently pretty neat and tidy from the looks of it, but I know once we get more into the school year, it’s going to get a bit more insane.  Hopefully this will help combat that.

I was pretty happy because I felt like I had some good discussions in some classes and also played a flashcard game with my kindergarteners that went over pretty well.
My school is also having the kindergarteners prepare a weekly speech (basically to show the parents (via video footage) what the kids are learning.  Anyway, in my classes, we started the speeches yesterday morning and by the afternoon today, they had them memorized.  I was so proud 😀 😀  haha
It was pretty simple, but keeping in mind that their English is also pretty basic too.  I have 4 in my class and I think only one is pretty solid on her alphabet.
The speeches were:
“Hello!
My name is _____.
I am __ years old.
Thank you!”

haha.  Pretty basic, but they also had to memorize them…and considering that we just started pretty much on Monday, that’s not too shabby.  I’m like a proud mama 🙂  Hopefully they don’t forget them by tomorrow.  I reward them with stickers (they have sticker charts as kindergarteners and sticker books for the elem. kids) or m&ms.  One m&m typically does the trick.


Also, in case anyone from home was thinking about a care package (:-D  doesn’t have to be now…but I made a list anyway.  Whether it’s in October for my birthday or whatever…this is just a little list of what I wouldn’t mind receiving :-P)
*(new) Whole Grain Pasta (ie: spaghetti)–Please?? 🙂 🙂 I know for sure that it’s at Walmart 🙂  Pleasssssse!
*Ginger Snaps (whichever brand my grandma buys from the $1 store) 😀
*Peanut Butter
*Mac and Cheese (spirals :-D)
*Lipton noodles–“butter” or “garlic shells”
*Do-si-do girl scout cookies
*Microwavable deserts (in the baking aisle)—Don’t be mean and send things that require an oven.  lol.  Ovens are extremely rare here.
*Popcorn salt/butter flavor stuff
*Garlic Powder (in the spices aisle)
*Bath and Body Works Stuff 😀  (in plastic bags in case they open)
*more socks 😦

Please and thank you, please and thank you 🙂

—–
Oh, and this was just a good link I found on packing/bringing things to Korea/Korea in general etc.
(Karen, if you’re reading, this would be good for you too.  Also, when you get to the packing stage, just let me know and I’ll do my best to help you out)
http://www.aussieontheroad.com/7-things-about-korea-comforts-from-home/


I went to the gym three times and I think I like it (haven’t paid yet)…and it’s hard to say whether I want to sign up or not.
I just feel like a fish out of water….which is going to happen no matter which gym I join.  The language barrier will always be there.  I think I like the jiu jitsu, but it’s hard to say because everything is so new there.  New language, new sport, new people/faces.
It’s roughly $50/mo (50,000 won/mo), which is actually really cheap for a gym…and I can go as many times as I want and take as many classes (ie: including kickboxing) as I want.
It’s also hard because I get out of school at 6:45/last class ends at 6:45 and the jiu jitsu is at 7pm..and it’s about a 15 minute walk from the school.  So, I basically have to haul ass to get there..and I’m still late because I have to sort of wrap up after my classes.
The instructor doesn’t seem to mind that I’m late (and I explained the situation–and he speaks ok english–which is also rare)…but I just feel crappy about it.
Jiu Jitsu is at 7pm every night (except sunday) and Kickboxing is from 9-10.
Soooo…also, if I were to do both (note to self: I also don’t NEED to go there every night either) then I’m basically busy from 9:30am to 10pm.  Then I come back and am exhausted.  Then I get up the next morning for a full day of classes.

Oi.
I told myself that I’d take the rest of the week off (as far as working out–school only) and decide if this is something I really want to do.  Then, if so, I’ll figure out a plan and get my payment in on Monday.
Until then…tomorrow is Friday and I have a ski trip to look forward to this weekend 🙂

And tonight, it’ll be just me and Downton Abbey.  🙂
I used to watch the series with my grandma from time to time (if I was at her house and it was on)…I now have the first season downloaded on my computer and I’m working my way through that.
I watched episodes one and two last night.  Love it!!

Sheesh…I logged on to just post about one thing, and then this happened, haha.  🙂

Update within an update (my grandma asked me about this on Skype and I guess I never mentioned anything about it):
Our new school year started on March 2nd and with that came my own classes.  So I have Kindergarten in the morning, go to lunch (an hour and half!!) and finish up with one more half hour kindergarten class after that.
Then from 2:50-6:45 I have 6 (one is a double period class) elementary classes. Those classes are like 40 minutes or something.  5 minute breaks in between.

*Haven’t checked a whole lot more into the Korean lessons (found places that offer them for free)–just haven’t had the time.
I know where they are, but I haven’t been out there for more info (times, etc) yet.
I know a new session starts in April though.
*I also joined a book club.
*I haven’t received a paycheck yet…first payday will be April 1.  (Technically should have been on March 1, but I don’t have a bank account yet, and they aren’t allowed to just give me cash.  Can’t get a bank account yet because I don’t have that ARC card yet).  <<That ARC card also allows me to get a cell phone.

Anyway, I think that’s a big enough update for today.  🙂

2 thoughts on “Running out of titles…bah…

  1. Thanks for the info Stacey I will keep those tips in mind. Plus I’ve been meaning to check out Downton Abbey. I usually love watching masterpiece theater type period pieces… I’m going to see if the library has the first season 🙂

Leave a Reply

