“Cultural Differences”

This is slightly rant-y, just to warn you.

Anyway, something I’ve noticed while here in Korea is that people don’t cover their mouths when they cough or sneeze.  It’s not just one person either…it’s an everybody thing.
DISGUSTING.  In my humble opinion.

I’ve mentioned it to other people too, and they agree with me and sort of chuckle because they become all nostalgic about when they first noticed it too.
I’m sorry, but I’m a pretty tolerant person when it comes to cultural differences, but I can’t handle this.  I’ve heard the reasons for it through other people, but I don’t really want to put it on here until I’ve heard it for myself, from a Korean.  (even though that’s where these people also got their information)…but basically it has to do with the word “immune”.  heh.

I’ve decided to take this to my classroom and work on it from there.  I’m not really the type of person to complain about something if I have the power to change it. Granted, I can’t fix it everywhere, but I can start with my little circle and that will satisfy me .

I was out to dinner with some girls over the weekend and I mentioned my idea for this lesson plan and they liked it.  One also said she thought that she’d like to do the same with her students.  We’re actually already learning about the body this week, so it happens to fit in nicely.
I found a craft I want to do and I’m going to start a reward chart for covering coughs/sneezes.  And Elmo has a little song on YouTube too.  🙂

It’ll make me feel better anyway.  If I can turn them into please/thank you machines, then I can sure as heck do this.  🙂

Hey Kids–It’s Germs 101!

and

Crafts:
http://saylorslog.blogspot.com/search/label/Germs

http://www.flickr.com/photos/artsyt/3545000124/in/photostream

😀  Excited!

Leave a Reply

