Happy Teacher’s Day!!

Today was Teacher’s Day in Korea (pretty much the same as Teacher Appreciation Day/Week back home).  I got to school and saw that some of my kindergarteners had brought in gifts with them for myself and some of the other kindergarten teachers.  Two of us (including me) got most of the haul because we have them more often and one of the other teachers just got here like a week ago so she hasn’t had a chance to make much of an impression yet.
It’s also completely optional for the kids to bring stuff (otherwise I would have had over 100 presents, lol).  I wasn’t really expecting much..maybe a card here or there or maybe flowers or something.  Or nothing, ha.  I know back home, most kids usually give lotion or a card or something.  Or the stereotypical apple.  haha.

This is what I received this year:

Image

I.KNOW.
WOW!!!!
I was completely blown away.
Most of it is from the kindergarten parents because we have their kids for the longest.  (hours at a time compared to a 35 minute class here and there throughout the week).
Again, this doesn’t happen with every student either.  Our school is also located in a wealthier area (and is a private school) so our presents would be different from other schools.

The details:
*Chanel foaming facewash–first time with Chanel…anything.
*TWO flower arrangements. (which, as a single lady, getting flowers is a very rare thing)
*Handmade paper flowers (origami-style)
*bracelet (was actually eyeing these the other day and talked myself out of it) 🙂
*30,000Won giftcard (just under $30) to Galleria Timeworld
*Burt’s Bees Boxed Set (even just one lip gloss from them is normally over $10).
*2 handwritten (in their best English) letters from two parents.
***Not pictured (because I completely forgot! ah!) –two free movie ticket vouchers!!  I got those yesterday and completely forgot to put them in the pic.  oops!

The whole day was a “I’m smiling so much that my face hurts” kind of thing.
Well, not the whole day, heh.  But, it was a fun day.
Also, a mom of one of my girls bought the teachers pizza for lunch.  DELICIOUS.
We also had a party during their normal snacktime (cake included).
Tuesday is also Art day for the kindergarteners (elementary school went on as usual) and myself and another teacher (we normally teach the art classes) had them make handmade cards for the two girls that work at the front desk (and work their butts off)…that would likely not receive anything because they aren’t technically teachers.
At the end of the day, we ended classes early (kindergarten) and had them all come into the library so they could each hand-deliver their cards to the girls that work at the front desk.

😀  Very fun day.
In case I haven’t mentioned it, I have kindergarten from 9:45-2:25 (with lunch from 12:25-1:45) then elementary from 2:50 to 6:45.
A really long day, and isn’t standard across all hagwons, but yeah…it’s what I do.  And hey, it gets me flowers and Chanel.  haha 🙂

ImageImage

//
Currently listening to:
Gotye–Somebody That I Used to Know
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NhkK-1epUA
(love when it picks up at 1:33, but addicted to this song)

Taylor Swift–Eyes Open (Hunger Games Soundtrack)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vShCqrZiK_0

Drake feat. Rihanna–Take Care
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-zzP29emgpg&feature=related

Rihanna–Where Have You Been
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HBxt_v0WF6Y&feature=related

Annnnnnnd…I’m so in love with this commercial, haha.  🙂 🙂
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=instream&v=35KX4OHQfMc
It’s one that I actually stick around to watch when it comes up on Youtube 🙂 haha.

Leave a Reply

