Updates

*Updated the “Care Packages” tab

*In case you haven’t heard yet, I went ziplining last weekend at Herb Hillz in Daegu, Korea…which was AWESOME.  It’s a mini-theme park with a high-ropes course and zipline courses also within the park.
I did manage to mess up my ankle a bit when I was there though.  This past Thursday, after noticing that the swelling and dark bruising wasn’t going away (and after pushing from family and friends, lol), I went to an orthopedic doctor and had it looked at.
Thankfully, nothing was broken (Thanks Mom for making me drink lots of milk, haha), even though I wasn’t surprised by that because it didn’t doesn’t really hurt.  It’s just sore, swollen and bruised.
It wasn’t sprained either.
The doctor just said I had some deep tissue bruising and ended up wrapping my leg up and putting it into a splint.  😦  With crutches.  Fun times.

I just have one week with it on, but I’m already very anxious to be free of it.

 I could already hobble around before the splint, but having it on makes it much more difficult to do much of anything 😦

However, I made it to the grocery store today…Hoorah!  And I can feel that my ankle seems to be getting stronger/less wobbly as time goes on.
Thursday can’t come soon enough.

Oh, and yes, I’d still definitely go ziplining again.  I’d just make sure I’m landing properly at the end of the line.  🙂

*Not really an update, but just something I’ve noticed about Korea that I wish we would do in the US.
If you’re going grocery shopping, using re-usable bags is HIGHLY encouraged here.  You can buy them easily at the front of the checkout stands for like $5, and if you need plastic bags, then you pay for each one individually.  They’re like the equivalent of like 20 cents.  They’re cheap, but I like how they have both easily available and how they encourage you to recycle and re-use them.

ALSO, those same bags (bright green) are very strong and can hold a lot…AND  are the same bags that people are supposed to use for their trashbags. The whole country (as far as I’m aware) uses the same green bags for throwing out garbage.
SO…if you don’t use the re-usable bags and buy the green ones at the checkout (can be bought individually or in bulk) then you can just use them again when you get home as your trashbags.  😀

The green bags are sold individually (at the checkout) and in bulk (right before the checkout–for home/garbage purposes).
The green bags (bulk) also come in various sizes too.  So, if you have bigger trashcans, you can get bigger bags and smaller bags for smaller trashcans.
Note: Most apartments here are small, so most people have smaller trashcans.

Anyway, just an interesting observation.
Personally, I have 4-5 re-usable bags (some were here before I got here, and then I bought 2 more myself when I first moved in, not knowing of the other ones yet).
I really only use like 2, at most, at a time because the re-usable/canvas bags are so big.  And because I don’t have a car, so I walk with my groceries and only have so many hands.  😛

**I also love how this is such a walking city (as are many cities here).  The sidewalks are large and accommodate cyclists and pedestrians.  I want this in the city that I end up calling home in the future.  I love being able to walk down the sidewalk and have outdoor lifestyles/being active as something that’s encouraged.

Anyhoo–I’m rewarding myself with a french toast dinner and a movie because I was able to make it to the grocery store and back even with a bad ankle.  Hoorah!

Note:  Buy 3, Get 3 FREE at Bath and Body Works this weekend! 😀
Wink Wink, Nudge Nudge.
My birthday is coming.  😛

One thought on “Updates

  1. Pingback: Ankle Update | staceyinkorea

Leave a comment