Ankle Update

Just a heads up–This is kind of a whiny/vent-y post.

If you aren’t aware, I messed up my ankle a bit ago while ziplining (go read the original post for more info), and I’ve had my leg wrapped up in a splint for not-even a week. A week on Thursday.  (And I’m pretty much counting down the hours til it is removed this Thursday.  Uh.  I hope.  More on that in a bit.)

This is what is basically going on:
http://orthoinfo.aaos.org/topic.cfm?topic=a00341
and I think a bit of this too:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hematoma

Fun times.
It doesn’t really hurt or anything…just swollen and purple.  And a bit tender if you push on my calf or ankle region too much.
Aside from that, I feel (with my overwhelming amount of knowledge on the subject, haha) that it’s healing well.  Aside from the massive bruising and swelling, my ankle feels a lot stronger than last week.
Last week, I couldn’t put much pressure on my right leg, and had a pretty nice limp.
However, now I can put full standing pressure on my leg.  I don’t overdo it or anything, it’s just something I’ve noticed.
I can also use my toes and wriggle my foot to the point where if the splint were loose enough that I could pull my foot out (with no hands).  Again, if it were loose enough.  That was definitely not the case last week.

I’ve been trying to elevate it as much as I can, and pretty much have been lounging around for hours at a time after work, just watching movies with my foot propped up on a bunch of pillows.  Also applying ice for 20 minutes at a time every few hours (as able).

I’m honestly just really nervous (too much reading stuff online) that I’ve messed up my ankle for good.  I’ve read a lot from people who have permanently swollen ankles (or sore) because their foot didn’t heal right after something similar to what I have, or sprained ankles, etc.
I’m a runner, dancer and a generally fairly active person…and the thought of messing up an ankle at age 25, which would keep me from doing a lot of those things…is beyond horrifying.
Especially because this injury was just a split-second decision.  Granted, I had a fun time while I was ziplining, and would have gone again, definitely….but after this mess, now I feel like I’m scarred from the experience.

Anyway, I just needed to get a lot of that off my chest.  I feel like I talk a lot about it with people and I don’t want it to wear on them.  It’s just on my mind a lot.
I really, really hope I didn’t mess up my ankle for good.  😦 😦

I also really hope I get cleared to have this darn thing off my foot on Thursday.  My leg feels dirty with it on.  A wrapped foot..from the ball of the foot to about 3 inches below my knee…during summertime is really sucky.
AND Mudfest is coming!  😦

I’ll continue to be really careful with my foot after it’s out of the splint…I just feel like it’s gotten a lot stronger and is ready to move around on its own now.
And because I want to shave my leg.  And not have my foot feel all sweaty and gross.  haha 😀

//end whine-fest.
Goodnight!

Ooohh!!! and….

No current plans for tomorrow or anything.  I know of some BBQs happening this weekend though.  Probably be attending something like that assuming the leg thing pans out accordingly.  😀

Happy 4th of July!!
Thank you to all of our past and present servicemen and women for all of your sacrifices that you’ve made toward ensuring our freedom.  It’s appreciated more than words can say.

Leave a Reply

