Favorite Things About Korea–Part 3 of 3

8. Carrying pizzas/watermelon
So, this might be a thing in other cities, but I’ve never lived in a city big/dense enough where people walked everywhere.  Here (everywhere in Korea), when you buy a pizza “take out”/to-go, they wrap it up in a pretty little ribbon…like so:

It acts as a handle for when you carry the pizza home.  Pretty nifty!  😀
Same for watermelon:

Here’s a link to show you them in action.  Thanks to EatYourKimchi for the video 😀

And one more that’s related:
http://www.eatyourkimchi.com/korean-shopping-bags-made-of-ribbon/

Also related to the trashbag/all plastic shopping bags/etc. post—In Korea, all shopping bags (paper or plastic) cost an extra 20 cents or so (except in won…not cents obviously).  Also, re-usable canvas bags are a pretty big thing here.  Anyway, yay for environmentally friendly things!  😀
I still pay the 20 cents for the bags, but it encourages you to use less of them…but even if I use them a lot, I still re-use them for my garbage.

9. Food Delivery

^^Menus that are often taped to doors or left in mailboxes

You can have just about anything delivered to your door here…pizza, noodles/Korean food, McDonalds, etc.
Yes yes, I know we have delivery in the US too, but I just think this bit is interesting.  Some places (usually Korean food restaurants) will bring plates and dishes for you and you just leave them outside your door when you’re finished.  Later, someone will swing back by and pick them up.

I like the idea, but I also think it contributes to bugs, and considering I had a pretty long stint with cockroaches, I don’t know how I feel about this anymore.  McDonalds delivery is still pretty cool…imagine having breakfast delivered to your door.
My Korean isn’t strong enough to order anything off the phone, but it’s my goal.  I just want to order a pizza and then I’ll be the happiest little lady on this side of the Atlantic.

The motorbike guys do the deliveries…much faster than cars because they can (and do…) zip in and out of traffic.

Korean Food Delivery Video:
Start at about 2:00
http://eatyourkimchi.bluevalleytech.com:85/korean-food-delivery/
Thanks again, Eat Your Kimchi 😀

10. Baseball games

August 1, 2014

August 1, 2014

I love going to games in the US, but Korean baseball games are preettttttyyyy fantastic.
Here’s a mini-list why:
1. You can bring food into the games–Pizza?  Yes!  Beer?  Yes!  Chicken?  Yes!  Candy?  Ice Cream?  Fruit?  Yes, yes and yes!
There are actually food stalls outside the baseball stadiums where people will sell you food before you go inside.  (Or you can buy it inside…either is ok.)  This brings me to point number 2…
2. FOOD IS NOT OVERPRICED.–Food costs about the same as it would if you went to the store to get it.  No $10 beers here.  So, it doesn’t matter if you buy the food inside the gate or outside of it.  There’s just more selection outside of the gates.
3. Cheering Section–Each stadium has a cheering section where the cheers originate.  People are super into the games and it’s not much of a sit-back and relax atmosphere.  Well, unless you want it to be.
There are songs for each players and different chants to sing.  There are cheerleaders/dancers, mascots (same as US) running around, etc.  It’s a lot louder.

4.  Team Names are Different–I separated this one, because it’s a difference but not one that I particularly care for.  In the US, the teams are named after the city: LA Dodgers, St. Louis Cardinals, New York Yankees, etc.
In Korea, different cities have teams (some big ones, like Seoul, have more than one team), but they’re named after companies: Samsung Lions, Hanwha Eagles, LG Twins, Lotte Giants, Kia Tigers, etc.


11. NO OVERDRAFT FEES
This one is pretty simple.  There are no overdraft fees at the bank.  I LOVE LOVE LOVE this.
If you run out of money, it will pull you to zero, but nothing further than that.  Then, once money is back in your account, it will automatically withdraw the money required from your account.

I really hate the whole concept of overdraft fees.  I have had a few experiences with them and it drives me insane.  Obviously I don’t have the money, so you’re going to charge me more money that I don’t have.  Oh, and another day went by where I don’t have money…there’s another fee.
So if you’re off by even $1, you could be -$100 before you know it.  Especially in this age with automatic withdrawal and such.
I try my best to keep everything well above zero, but when you’re broke (as I was before), it makes it even more difficult to keep your head above water.

12. Land of the Free Samples

When you go to the grocery store, there are free samples on nearly every endcap and also in the aisles themselves.  Samples for watermelon, bananas, milk, juice, mandu (dumplings), coffee, wine, etc etc.
I was at the store the other day and a lady was sampling the pasta sauce so she had made a big pot of a cream pasta and was giving samples of it.

Free samples also extend to makeup stores.  They give free samples when you enter the store and typically more when you buy stuff.  Usually they’re like facemasks and creams and such.

13. Service (“ser-be-suh”)
This ties into the last one, but it’s free stuff just for buying stuff.  When I was at the baseball game, we bought a pizza, chicken and beer (chicken and beer is a HUGE thing here.  Sort of like hamburger and fries or pizza and beer? in the US) and the vendor gave us a free water with our purchase.
If you go out for Korean BBQ, sometimes they’ll give you an extra plate of meat (rare, but sometimes).
Or if you go to a noraebang (singing room, or karaoke room) they’ll give you an extra hour for free.

It’s supposed to act as a thank you for your business.  🙂

Noraebang (노래방)
Norae= sing/singing
bang = room
(The “a” in bang is more of an “ah”, like you’re at the dentist.)

Bring a group of friends (typically after the bars) for a few hours of karaoke in your own room.  Microphones and tambourines included.

Korean BBQ

14. KOREAN BBQ
Ahhhh…I don’t remember if this was on my list…but it should be.  Anyway, it’s yummy and you cook your own meat at the table.

Whew.  It’s on the list.  🙂

ANNNNND finished.

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things About Korea–Part 3 of 3

  1. Pingback: 11 Things I Dislike About Korea–Part 1 of 2 | staceyinkorea

  2. Pingback: 11 Things I Dislike About Korea–Part 2 of 2 | staceyinkorea

Leave a Reply

