Classroom Pics

I’m changing a few things around and wanted to share what my classroom looks like currently.

I posted about this a few weeks ago and already made a few changes before I took the pictures today.
1. I decided to leave the back wall alone and keep the numbers and colors where they are.
2. I moved the seasons and put them near the “window” and put up a birthday display in its place.  I’ll finish this up tomorrow…nearly finished 🙂
3. I took down an old poster and made the display with different jobs on that back wall that juts out.  I think it looks already and I had the space for it.
I’m thinking about having the kids change the jobs out…maybe printing out a few “accessories” for each job and having the younger kids match them up with the job that is currently on display.  For example, if we have the police officer and an officer worker up, they could sort through a basket of laminated accessories (badge, stethoscope, pens, ambulance, etc.) and attach them via velcro to the correct job.  Then my older (later) class could change them at the end of the day.

I dunno, still working out the kinks, but I’m want to try and get the kids active with them so they learn from them and not just have them on display.

In the last month or so, I’ve had the evening kids start helping “reset” the room for the next day in the last 5 minutes of class and it’s a huge help for me.  The kids love it too.  They change the “yesterday was/today is/tomorrow will be” signs and sometimes help wipe down the tables.
Each class (I have 3, 2-hour classes) is responsible for straightening the books on the bookshelf, pushing in their chairs and emptying the pencil sharpener, straightening the puzzle mat near the bookshelf…basically cleaning up before the next group comes in.  It’s routine now and very helpful.  🙂
The kids love helping out and it makes it super quick to close down the classroom.  The “jobs/careers” would be one more addition and would help the kids get more involved with their classroom.

Anyway, nearly finished, but I still want to:
1. do something with weather on the back wall (?)–I have the stuff made up but not sure if the room looks too cluttered??
2. Organize the “hard to spell” words into a word wall of sorts and move it under the white board.
3. Re-label the pencil and eraser jars
4. See about getting a map that is both in English and in color.  The one I have now is in English (kinda?) but it’s a night view and doesn’t have country outlines.  No bueno.

I also finished the bookmarks and they were a huge hit 🙂
I teach from the Oxford Reading Tree series and I found bookmarks online with the characters on them and the kids loved them!  I also made up some different styles with the name of our school on it.  One with just the name and one (cooler…IMO) one that says “I love ____________” and our school name.

Anyway, that’s all for tonight!  Hope you like the pictures!

Leave a Reply

