Halloween Preparations

I thought I was finished but I had a few more things to share, but the other post is getting a bit lengthy, so I’m making another 😀

So, Halloween is coming up and I decorated my classroom for it.  The kids helped with the paper chain during their break time over the course of about a week.  They tried racing eachother at opposite ends and it was pretty fun.  They also loved when we stretched it out and they saw how long it was 🙂

CAM03643 CAM03644 CAM03645 CAM03646
(Mom–that 3D Vampire you sent me is on the front of the door and the kids love jabbing their fingers in his mouth, haha)

Also, depending on their behavior throughout the week and if all of the work from the week is caught up (and er…how tired I am by the end of the day on Fridays) we’ll watch a movie at the end of class.  They have to do a worksheet with it and write down any English words that they hear as well as answer some questions on the back, so it’s not all fun.  They still love watching movies and this month I’ve been letting them watch kid-friendly Halloween movies.  Our classes are two hours long, and they usually only watch the first 20-30 minutes (depending on time) of the movies, but I think it lets them get the idea, and they write down the name of the movie, so I guess technically they could download it at home.
We’ve watched “Halloweentown“, “Hotel Transylvania” and most recently “Frankenweenie“.  I only was able to show Frankenweenie to my oldest kids (and…it was actually a bit darker than I expected for a kids’ movie) because the other ones were super slow workers this week and we had a lot to get caught up on.  The second class also had major homework issues this week and I was a wee bit irritated with them.
Frankenweenie and Hotel Transylvania are super cute though and I actually want to go back and watch the rest of Frankenweenie because I/we never got to finish it.

Let’s see…we’re also having a Halloween party at school next week.  Halloween isn’t celebrated here but it’s growing in popularity and you’re able to see more costumes and decorations for sale than a few years ago.  Also, most schools and especially the hagwons (after-school academies, which is where I work) put on holiday parties for the kiddies to make it more fun and to expose them to other cultures (and because they’re great advertising for the schools, ha).
At our school, the kids still come in at their usual times but they are lumped into groups and spend 30-40 minute intervals in each teacher’s room.  Each teacher prepares a different activity (to be repeated throughout the day for an unknown amount of students because the kids can bring friends).
I’m planning on teaching them a dance to Michael Jackson’s ‘Thriller’.  I still haven’t decided if I want to teach them the official dance (which I’d need to learn) or just make something else up on my own.  Last year I did more artsy projects with the kids but it’s a lot of work when you don’t know how many kids you’ll have and trying to make sure you have enough supplies/trying to speed up the slow ones and provide some other entertainment for the speedy ones.
My plan is to show them the video and get some Christmas lights or something so we can turn out the lights in the room.  Then learn the dance and do it again and again until they’re exhausted.
I taught my students a routine to ‘Splish Splash’ awhile ago and they loved it.  It got them out of their chairs and it’s a great break from the usual.  They actually requested it on Thursday and we had a spare 10 minutes or so so we busted it out again.  haha 🙂
I’m also planning on making a graveyard cake because we usually have food as well.  We haven’t had a meeting about the party yet (er…it’s next week) and normally I’d be a bit concerned, but you sort of get used to the whole ‘fly by the seat of your pants’ system that’s in place.  Anyway, I can’t seem to get chocolate cake to turn out properly without boxed cake (maybe it’s me or maybe it’s my electric-style oven) so I’m going to do iced brownies instead.  There isn’t anything like this (ie: seasonal/festive baked goods) so they’re going to freak out.  I kind of wanted to make 3 of them because we have 3 sets of students (2-4, 4-6 and 6-8PM)…is that excessive?  haha.  Ah well…we’ll see how I feel when it gets closer.  I bought a jumbo pack of brownie mix at Costco, so I have the supplies…we shall see.

Allllllso…at my apartment, I have my door decorated like a mummy which was kind of fun.  I’m also thinking about putting a plastic pumpkin full of candy on the door handle on Halloween day/night with a message in Korean about taking some/Happy Halloween, etc.

Anyway, that’s really it for tonight.  I’ll leave you with some pretty fall foliage pictures from around my area.

CAM03654 CAM03655 CAM03656
Annnnnd goodnight!

Leave a Reply

