Busy Busy…

Yesterday, I started day one of including Powerpoint presentations into my class with my oldest students.  I needed something to get them off their butts because they have the most difficult workbooks and the longest books of the classes I teach.
I took them down to the library and we’re working on making Powerpoints on what they’re thankful for.  I wanted to start with a fairly easy topic while they get used to it.  Some kids have already used the software before so that’s pretty helpful (except when they get too focused on changing the different aspects of the slides and not enough on the writing…) Ah well.

When they’re finished, I’m planning to incorporate presentations into our Monday schedules, so, should be interesting.  I want to teach them about a Works Cited/plagiarism as well because it’s a rampant problem here.  That and I think if they’re going to learn how to do a presentation, we might as well cover all of the bases.
This is also kind of a test-run because I might want to use it with my new “high level” students when we switch the classes around in January.

Oh, and I’m working on a second music CD–this time for the older kids.  I think it was pretty fun for the kids and useful as I have some of my students coming in singing some of the songs (or lines from the songs) when they come in.  It’s not very many students, but I think it’s another great way to bring real-life English a few steps closer to them, in a less intimidating way and it’s really not that much work.  The hardest part of the whole endeavor was finding the bags to put everything in.

Anyway, busy as always.
30 days til vacation 😛

Still trying to find a hamster-sitter to watch Munch while I’m away :-/

Leave a Reply

