December Plans

So, I have three teaching weeks in December before break and I wanted to write out my holiday plans for the kids.
First off, Christmas is my favvvvvvorite holiday so I’m hoping to spread some holiday cheer with them.

I’ve nearly finished a Powerpoint presentation on the three main winter holidays in the Western world, or at least as far as I’m aware.  I’m going to break up the Powerpoint and talk about Hanukkah the first week, Christmas the second week and Kwanzaa the third week.  That’s the order they fall in this year, so it works out nicely.  Christmas decorations have recently started to become more of a thing where I’m living, so I’m hoping to tell them about the spirit of giving and family, and not only Santa and presents.  I don’t celebrate Hanukkah or Kwanzaa, but I’m hoping to at least make them aware of the different holidays that are going on this time of year.  Lots of Googling going on these days.
Note: if you celebrate Kwanzaa and want to make sure I include something important, feel free to send me a message!  I’m just going off what I find online.

I’m also super grateful that my classes are fairly flexible and that the parents seem to be ok with whatever I do with the kids.
I’m thinking about having a cookie-making contest with my 2 youngest classes and making a gingerbread house from graham crackers (or cookies) with the last/oldest class.  I only have so many graham crackers, and the last class is a bit older and smaller, so it might be a bit more manageable.
I just thought up the cookie-making contest the other day and I think it would be good fun.  I only have 8-9 kids in my first two classes (yay for the after-school academies!), so I’d like to make copies of the directions, teach basic words and then put them into teams.  They could try and make the same recipe and see how they turn out at the end.  Maybe do this the day before break.
1. Learning a new skill
2. Everyone loves holiday cookies!
3. All in English
4. Kids love competition 🙂

Anyway, those are my current plans 🙂

Oooooh!!  Maybe I could even put together a little holiday cookie recipe book!  How fun!

Ya know, sometimes I wish I could shut my brain off and just go through life like a normal person…

I was also thinking of doing a small holiday craft related to the “holiday of the week” so they can get more into it.  I’ve seen a few easy Hanukkah-related activities already and they seem fairly simple.

Anyway…my favorite time of year is upon us and I’m stuffed to the brim from my Thanksgiving dinner.  Life is good.  Just need to find another sub for my class (last one was rejected because apparently she has the wrong sort of visa…oi.)…aside from that stress, things are good.  🙂

Also, why am I thinking of more pumpkin pie when I’m still full?

Easy cookie recipes for future reference (for me):
http://www.food.com/recipe/eloises-easy-sugar-cookies-82945

http://www.food.com/recipe/soft-snickerdoodle-cookies-97496

Mayyybe these depending on the students (allergy)
http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/classic-peanut-butter-blossom-cookies/a3563f6e-96b0-443f-ae0a-53cef4be6db6

I’d also looooove to do these because they’re amazing:
http://allrecipes.com/recipe/chocolate-crinkles-ii/

But I can’t find a recipe at the moment that doesn’t involve putting them into the fridge for x amount of hours…
Anyway, fun (and delicious) times await 😀

Leave a Reply

