Smooth Sailing!

My students were in beast-mode today…some finished their workbooks on their first book today, which was great. Others are getting close and everyone should hopefully be finished by Friday.  Minus my oldest student…he’s still powering through his workbook though.  Giving a good effort and we had some 1-1 time today, so that was good.

To clarify,the students have to read a book (depends on their grade level, not ability level) and answer the chapter questions (2 pages for each with pictures) at the back of the book.  Then, we’ll work on a packet that sort-of goes with their book as well.  The questions are directly related and the packet is 4-ish pages that is basically like “write 4 words that you learned from this book and draw a picture.”  It’s just a general packet that goes with most non-fiction books.  From what I’ve seen anyway.
That is part of a competition (the packet).  The questions are more time-consuming, and I think some other teachers are skipping the questions and just going straight to the packets.  I’m not sure, but that’s what it sounded like.
Anyway, I must be that tough teacher then, lol.  The one I always dreaded because I’m making them do the questions.  I think it’s better because it checks their reading and it should make the packets easier.  Which we should get to on Friday.  Woot!  Go! Go!

Thennnn, next week we have another book (same structure) for fiction next week.  These books seem easier (vocabulary and size) so they should be able to push through them a bit quicker than the books from this week.  There also seem to be less questions and there are more of the ‘circle the correct answer’ variety.
The non-fiction questions have them writing their own answers, doing wordsearch puzzles, circling the correct answer, matching…etc.  It’s really good, just time consuming.

Anyway, I’m thinking we should be finished by mid next week with everything and I’m thrilled about it.
I’m going to stick in their regular class workbooks as well, so we can get caught up there too.

Our term is ending the last week in January (when the sub is here) and we’ll start a new term when I get back on Monday, so everything that can be finished should essentially be finished by that date.  IE: should be finished by next Friday so I don’t push anything time-critical onto the sub’s shoulders.  She’ll only have a 4-day week as well, so I don’t want it to be stressful for her, or for me to have to worry about things getting finished on time.

So, it looks like that is on track as well.  After today, I can’t even tell you how good it feels to have everything coming together.  I only have 4 kids in my last class and they’re all nearly finished.  One girl was finished and 2 of the boys were doing really well towards the end of class.  One had like 2 chapters left (what I have been assigning for homework) and another had 3 but seemed eager to finish.  Then, I have the oldest student…which…has a ways to go.   The first three should finish up tomorrow and the oldest is MWF, so we’ll see how things went for him when he’s back on Friday.
I think we should be able to knock out the packet tomorrow and then be completely finished with the non-fiction book by Friday.  Take our weekly test and perform their powerpoint presentations (also going on in the background these days) on Friday, finish their regular class workbook tomorrow and Friday.  Bada-bing, bada-boom!  If all goes according to plan, everything will be finished on Friday.
Ahhhh, feeling good.

My plan for class for next Friday (my last day before vacation) is to do what I mentioned a few weeks (days?) ago.  I’m going to have a holiday-cookie baking “contest” with the first two classes.  Give them each a recipe and put them into teams then have them work to make their cookies.  So, they’ll be baking cookies, take their weekly spelling test and have their Friday movie.  Sounds like a fun last day before break 😀 I’m hoping to send some cookies home with them (likely to be eaten on the bus or on the stairs going down to the bus…) with a recipe book and Christmas music CD (no lyrics or fancy bag this time, just a CD).  The older kids will help me use up a crap-ton of graham crackers that I have in my pantry, and we’ll make gingerbread houses.

Sooooo yeah, busy busy!  But I like that it feels that we’re getting a lot done.  It feels very productive and I loooove it.  I’m a huge project-y person and I love the feeling when a project is finished.
I’m also waiting to hear back from the teachers in the US to see if they’ve received the penpal letters yet…they should be there by now…If I don’t hear anything by Friday then I’ll send a message over to check-in.

WHEW.

Anyway, ramble ramble.

Rearranged the reading area because my books were taken down to the library
BEFORE
CAM03645CAM03646

AFTER (as of Tuesday)
CAM03759 CAM03761

Moved the bookshelf over and now it’s used for extra classroom supplies (tissues, glue sticks, paper, plates, colored pencils, etc.)  and the seating area is bigger.  I sent the puzzle down to the library and the magnet board with ABC magnets is back in action.  I also got 2 more pillows from the dollar store (6 now).  I honestly pay more in time than in money.  It’s only a bit per month that I put in, but I think the kids enjoy our room so it makes it worth it.
I’m planning on doing some sort of canopy/tent thing in this area after break as well.  For the…children? 😀 haha

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

