The Little Things

So, this week has been pretty good so far.

1. On Monday, one of the ladies at the front desk mentioned that my second class would be combined with another teacher’s class because they weren’t able to find a sub to cover the class.  (They’re more lenient with this because this other person is technically filling in for our co-owner who is in England currently with a bunch of students until February/March).
Anyway, I was given about 40 minutes notice, which is more time than I’m used to for such announcements…so although it was a bit challenging (and crowded) getting everything covered for two different courses in the same allotted time–got it done and felt pretty good about it after.
My second class is my favorite class because they’re quick-learners and they’re pretty friendly kids, so they would have been my ideal choice class to have anyone else be merged with had I a choice anyway.  So, convenient that it worked out that way.
Also that it fell on a Monday which is when we introduce new vocabulary, that was also nice.  Mondays are the easiest to sort of cram things in.  We just had to move the class fairly quickly.  Less chatting and more…military style, I guess you could say.  Finish one thing and quickly on to the next so the other class could get their vocabulary in as well.

2. I have a favorite coffee shop that’s near my school–mainly because the owner is super nice and also because the coffee isn’t horrendously over-priced.  The owner also speaks English which is a HUGE plus (and very, VERY rare.)  He also gives me free biscuits for my coffee and sometimes throws in a free cookie because I visit often.
Anyway, I’ve tried at other places to get a cafe mocha with an extra shot of espresso…and failed at it.  If you’ve been in Korea for any length of time (not sure about in Seoul), but having an order modified is unheard of.  Essentially impossible.  You order what is on the menu and that’s that.  Don’t like pickles?  Tough.  Want some extra cheese on that burger?  Too bad.  So, what typically would happen when  I’d order an extra espresso shot would be that I’d get the mocha AND an espresso shot.  Not in the same cup.  Tried translating and miming and it just ends in confusion.
Anyway, so I decided randomly to try it out today at my favorite place and he was confused at first but because he speaks English he was able to pass it on to the barista.  ANNNNND perfection.  That one little thing made my day.  haha
I think most coffee drinks come with about one shot of espresso in it here (two in the US) because I can barely taste the coffee when I’m drinking it.  Not so, today.  I’m wondering if my students noticed my extra energy today, haha. 🙂

3. My first (the rowdy bunch) class are also learning the ways of my room and starting to settle down a bit.  We’ve still got a ways to go, but there hasn’t been any yelling or ripping of things off the walls since that last incident.  Also, they’re getting pretty good about coming in and getting their work out, which feels pretty great, if I do say so myself.  😀

The only not so good thing is that I worked out before work today and my right knee feels like it’s in a vice.  It started toward the end of work today but headed to bed now so hopefully it’ll be good to go before tomorrow.  Might take some ibuprofen or something before bed.

Oh, also, I’m madly in love with Sam Smith.  That is all.  😀

Here’s a video to start/continue/end your day.

Leave a Reply

