Vacation!

Sorry, had to 😀

Wait…Wait!!  Here comes the chorus!!  VACATION…ALL I EVER WANTED!! VACATION..HAVE TO GET AWAY!!!!!

*ahem*  🙂

So, being in a hagwon (private school), I kinda get pretty minimal vacation days…in exchange for smaller class sizes.   I get 10 days off + all public holidays.  (Um..Korea, you need to add more holidays to your list…and stop making them on the weekends! grrr!  You’re a bunch of crazies!)

Anyway, here are my current vacationing plans:

Bali, Indonesia: late July (I have the dates in front of me, but I feel weird putting them online)
Here and Here for info.  Oh, and here.

Thailand:  Late December/Early January
Here and Here
(beaches, tigers and elephants, oh my!)

Japan: during Korea’s harvest festival in Sept/October
I have a friend teaching in Japan and I want to come visit her 🙂  And we can go to Tokyo Disney! 😀

Beijing, China: 3 day weekend (Thanks Buddha!)–this will be a back-to-back non-stop weekend of sight-seeing.  I’ve heard that it can be done, and that yes, it’s basically a crash-course for Beijing, but you can easily see all the main stuff in 3 days.
(Thanks to excellent public transportation!  Gr…we need this in America.  Get with it.  Gosh…we’re so sad.)

Here.  And here.

I have so much more on my list (while I’m on this side of the globe) and just not enough time to see it all:
Malaysia
Philippines
Australia (I know it’s far…I want to go so bad.  Perhaps after my contract is up…)
Vietnam
Russia

*sigh*

Anyway, that’s two updates in one night…probably going to go read and then head to bed.
Adios!

Edit:  Well, honestly, those places and general travel around Korea will be enough to keep me very happy 🙂

Are you sure you don’t want to come teach in Korea??  It’s pretty nice once you start to get settled in 🙂

3 thoughts on “Vacation!

  1. I’m planning to go to Thailand too. But I’d look into China a bit. I really wanted to go to China, after all, Incheon is just a hop, skip and jump away, but I changed my mind after looking at visa information. For Americans, it costs 140(?) USD just to get a Visa. I’ve kind of nixed plans to see the mainland for now.

  2. ^Yeah, that’s what I heard :-/
    I really want to go…mainly to see the Great Wall…but the visa is crazy. I was at a book club meeting yesterday and I heard from a Canadian that theirs is like $60. I think a visa into China for US citizens is actually well over $200.

    Gah. Now I’m starting to second guess it. You can do a lot with $200…

  3. Stacey All those places….look…..awesome! I am totally with you on the Australia trip As you know I’ve been wanting to go there for years 🙂 Oh have a Happy St. Patrick’s Day will ya!

Leave a comment